In 2011 Compostmodern expanded its scope to two days with the addition of an “unconference”, providing attendees the opportunity to establish their own sustainable goals. The 2011 event was produced by Rahul Raj, the unconference was moderated by Joe Kirallah.

Compostmodern: Fertile Ground for Designing a Sustainable Future
January 22-23, 2011
Herbst Theater, San Francisco

The expanded conference format explored the range of design thinking necessary to create a socially and ecologically responsible society. The conference audience and conference sponsors were encouraged to come together to find inspiration, share knowledge, and explore real world opportunities for transforming products, industries, and lives.

The conference format spanned two days. Day one, which was held in the Herbst Theater, included presentations from luminaries and cutting-edge thinkers. Day two was an UnConference where participants engaged in breakout sessions and incubate projects.

Compostmodern 2011 speakers included: 
Bruce Mau, World-leading visionary, innovator, designer, and author
Jannie James, pioneer in the field of experiential branding and culture building
Yves Behar, founder of fuseproject
Lisa Gansky, author of The Mesh: Why the Future of Business is Sharing
Scott Thomas, SimpleScott
Jule Cordua, Director of Communications at (RED)
Jonah Sachs, Creative director at Free Range Studios
Debera Johnson, Academic Director of Sustainability at Pratt Institute
Nathan Waterhouse, co-lead of OpenIDEO
Nitzan Waisberg, co-creator of Sustainable Abundance
Dara O’Rourke, Associate Professor at the University of California, Berkeley
Heather Flemming, CEO and co-founder of Catapult Design
Marc Mathieu, former head of Global Brand Marketing at Coca-Cola
Kate Daughrill, Detroit-based artist
Christopher Simmons, principal of MINE™
Kierstin De West, key research + strategic mind at Ci.
Dan Phillips, founder of The Phoenix Commotion
Alissa Walker, Compostmodern Moderator, freelance writer
Joe Khirallah, Unconference moderator, CEO, Green Bear Group